New York, New York

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

After my experience in London, I came to love living in urban areas. So as soon as I graduated, I knew that I wanted to live in New York City. Not only did it harbor the greatest publishing companies, but I loved everything New York had to offer. You could go to a different restaurant every night for ten years and you would still not hit them all. You want to go to a comedy club? Jazz bar? Burlesque show? Anything you want is at your finger tips. Since I have moved out I’ve realized how much I miss that.

When that time finally came, I had no other friends that shared that same dream with me. They were teachers and nurses, so none of them wanted a job in the city. Paul was in Hoboken at the time, but I still wanted the city. So with no one to go with me, I moved there on my own. Needless to say my parents encouraged Paul to stay with me as much as possible.

One of my favorite things to do in London I started doing in New York as well. I would put my headphones in and just try to get myself lost. I would wander from neighborhood to neighborhood, loving the transition between them.

At this point I was going for my masters, so I had a flexible schedule for a little before I was starting an internship at Self magazine.

Within New York, I had made my own bucket list, that I’m currently still working on.

I walked the Brooklyn Bridge, that was easy because I lived downtown. I saw countless Broadway plays, I would go to movies in the park. I got to see my favorite movie Roman Holiday, in Bryant park. I reserved a spot and Paul met me with a picnic. I got to see a play in Lincoln center, hang out in Central Park and even do trapeze! More about that in a later post.

Overall, New York taught me a lot of things. Some good, some bad. I’m an extremely impatient walker, I walk with purpose. Since I’ve worked in Time Square for five years, I don’t have the patience for tourist who stop in the middle of the sidewalk to look up. I have a hard time switching this off when I’m outside of New York. When I went to see my parents in Florida and I barreled though a crowd on the street  and I overheard my mom say to them, “she’s from New York.” So that probably wasn’t the best habit to pick up.

I’m also, thanks to London as well, very aware of my surroundings. It’s kinda crazy when you sit down with a bunch of New York women and you can spend hours sharing multiple stories about being followed by men. But because of it, I can asses situations and know where to go and what to do.  Thankfully, I’ve never had an traumatizing experiences. I went to jury duty once and when they ask the question “have you ever been the victim of a crime” you wouldn’t believe the stories people told.

But let’s get past the negative. New York taught me culture. It taught me to appreciate, even love some things I never thought I would. Paul and I joke, because what he hated about New York was that you could go to the same coffee shop everyday and the workers would still treat you like they’ve never seen you before. Me, I LOVED that! I grew up with my mom telling everyone her life story, so going to the store to pick up milk was a twenty minute ordeal because the check out woman was showing my mom pictures of her grand-kids and telling her about her husband’s recent surgery.

I loved that no matter what time of day or night, there was always something to do. You could never say you were bored living in New York. There was always a new experience available at your fingertips.

I just recently saw an advertisement for this zombie experience. Apparently you and your friends get locked in a room with a zombie chained to the floor and you have to figure out how to get out. Very Saw like, but hey why not?

Even though I’m living on the other side of the Hudson, I still work in the city, so there are still plenty of opportunities to gain more experiences. My one bucket list item still left is a ballet or Opera at Lincoln Center.

Till next time…

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

Leave a Reply

