Heli-Skiing

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

Heli-Skiing has to be one of my top bucket list items.

I’ve been skiing since I could walk. One thing  I remember growing up, is watching ski videos in the lodge with my boots still on and thinking to myself I can’t wait until I can do that.

Paul and I actually met skiing in Vermont. I was with a friend of mine who knew about of bunch of guys from our high school that were up for the weekend. He and I were the first ones down the mountain and while waiting for everyone else, got to talking and hit it off.

Since then, our competitiveness with one another has really pushed us to be even better skiers. We both skied the highest mountain in Europe, Mont Blanc and he even proposed to me on a guided trip through the back country in Whistler.

When we went back to Whistler on our ten year (dating) anniversary, Paul surprised me with Heli-skiing.

The  best part was our guide turned out to be the same one that took us out when Paul proposed, so she not only remembered us but upgraded us!

There’s something about taking a helicopter to the top of an untouched mountain and skiing forty-five minutes through fresh powder that just makes me completely giddy. The day couldn’t’ have been any more perfect. The conditions were great and visibility wasn’t too bad. We got at least 7 runs in, while other groups lost visibility and either didn’t get to go out or only were able to do 2-3 runs.

For lunch, we were provide warm butternut squash soup while we sat in this remote part of the mountain, so quiet you could hear a pine cone fall from a tree one hundred yards away.

This trip taught me that if there is something you really want to do, don’t put it off.

I was always hesitant because of the price, but I have to say I’m so glad that I did it. I will always have that memory and how much joy I derived from that experience.

So many people spend money on tangible things, but I would much rather invest in experiences. In the end that makes you richer as a person.

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

Leave a Reply

