Paris

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

So I had seen Paris when I studied abroad, but Paris with my husband was a big deal. It’s the city of romance! I didn’t want my only experience of Paris be of staying in a hostel in the red light district.

What was special about this trip, is that we had a friend of ours that was living there for two years and we wanted to make a point of seeing him before he moved back to the US.

Paul had business meetings in Scotland, so I took the red-eye out to Paris Thursday night, arriving Friday morning. I got myself settled and wandered the streets for a bit before our friend Nassim got off of work.

What was great about going a second time around, was I didn’t have any desire to do the touristy stuff.

Nassim suggested a hotel in a local area which was great. I walked out of our boutique hotel and I was immediately on a cobblestone street. There were no super markets, this street had a butcher shop, next to a cheese shop, across the street from a bakery that was next to a wine store. It was amazing! I sat at a cafe for two hours drinking coffee and eating french onion soup while reading Hemingway’s  A Moveable Feast. For those that don’t know, that is the story he wrote about his time living in Paris.

Nassim then picked me up on his vespa and in true snoopy fashion, I was riding through traffic in Paris on the back of his vespa in a leather jacket and my scarf whipping in the wind. I never had so much fun weaving in and out of traffic!

We caught up with one another at a local tea shop with an amazing view of the Eiffel tower. He invited Paul and I to his apartment that night, where he was having a tapas party with a bunch of expats.

Thankfully, being in the location I was, I picked up fresh bread from the bakery, some chocolates from the chocolate shop and some wine to bring over. We had such a blast that night! After Paul was able to meet up with us,  he brought us to a club where we partied until 4:00 AM.

We didn’t get up until noon, and after breakfast we wandered up and down the streets of Paris until we were meeting Nassim for dinner. After another great local dinner spot, we listened to Vivaldi Four Seasons quartet at a local church that sounded unbelievable! It was the only touristy thing I wanted to do and luckily Nassim had never done it either and enjoyed it. We ended the night at a cafe where we stayed hanging out with all of Nassim’s friends until sunrise. This time we didn’t wake up until 2:00 in the afternoon.  We spent the rest of the afternoon, once again, just wandering around Paris.

It may not seem like much, but this was one of the best trips I’ve been on. One thing I learned is the best experience you can have in another country is to experience it like a local. I had done this in Germany with a friend from London and it was another memorable experience.

So things to keep in mind when you decide to visit another country. Minimize the amount of tourist attractions you want to go to. When I lived in London and was traveling every weekend, come April  I was so burned out that I couldn’t look at another church or museum.

Secondly, do some research and see what you can find to do that is just as exciting but not a tourist trap.

Living in New York, I always look for things to do on Time Out New York. The Vivaldi Quartet that I found, wasn’t on a tourist site, but on Time Out Paris.

Just a thought. Till next time…

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

Leave a Reply

