Be a Yes Man

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

My overall blog has basically been pushing this message of being a yes man, but I wanted to dive a little deeper into it.

There have been plenty of times where I come home from work, I’m exhausted, I don’t want to do anything but sit on the couch in my sweats, when I get a call from a friend to go out.

As if it’s a knee jerk reaction, I am saying yes before my mind can register it. These always happen to be the nights that are most memorable for me. Look, there have also been times I agree to go out for a drink and realize I’m still not feeling it and I go home. That’s okay, but at least give it a shot.

More often than not, I know people whose knee jerk reaction is to say no, before they even know the time and date of the event. They are just assuming that they won’t be able to make it. That’s no way to live, because eventually you’ll find yourself sitting at home because no one is calling you anymore.

These are obviously the two extremes. There is a happy medium in between where people can make the decision, I binge drank this whole weekend, so maybe Monday happy hour isn’t the best decision. I get all that. I also know that you can go enjoy happy hour and drink water. Take the opportunity to talk/network with coworkers and see what opportunities come your way.

The point I’m making is you never know. You never know who you might meet that changes your life. You never know what amazing experience will shape who you become because you agreed to go on that trip with friends, or hell, just because you made the decision you wanted to go to Bali and just did it.

Look at Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat Pray Love. She made a very bold decision that changed her life completely. She was tired of making excuses for herself and being unhappy.

Most likely if you are getting a tingling feeling in your stomach that you shouldn’t do something, to me, means that you should.

I’ve always been the type of person that chooses experience over material things. So should I not be traveling as much so that I can save up for that bigger house? Probably, but I know that there will be a time in my life where I won’t have the opportunities I have now. So maybe we buy a smaller house when the time comes and eventually, since those opportunities will have become less available, we use that money to eventually buy the bigger house.

In the end, the scrap book of memories I have will  be my most charitable possessions.

 

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

Leave a Reply

