Eastern State Penn

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

I’m a huge fan of horror. Actually I’m very specific. I don’t like gore or torture scenes, but I love a good thriller. I love that tingly feeling you get when you are anticipating something is going to happen. The creepy music is going and it takes everything for you to yell “don’t go in there!”

One thing that was always on my bucket list this time of year was a haunted trail, house or something we could go to. The ultimate though, was going to the Eastern State Penitentiary.

This place is phenomenal. We got a huge group of people to go and started out with dinner across the street which was also themed for Halloween.

You make a reservation in advance and then you enter the line that is stamped for your time frame.

Before we even got in, I was terrified. Downtown Philadelphia isn’t exactly the safest place and across the street there was a man that seemed a little tweaked. I didn’t mean to, but when I was waiting on line I wound up catching  eyes with him. Sensing my uneasiness I guess, he pointed at me and then ran at me full speed. I started screaming thinking I was about to get killed by a crack addict or something. Then he stopped a breath in front of me and I noticed that he had a star contact in his eye and gore makeup. I was relieved to know he was a part of the whole scene.

My friends still make fun of me because that was the first time I was ever legitimately  terrified.

What’s great about doing stuff like this is you get to see people at their most vulnerable. My husband hates doing these with me because when it comes to flight or fight, he will fight and he’s always afraid he’s going to hit one of the actors.

My brother-in-law was the best though. He’s a 6’5 broad man who no one in their right mind would want to mess with. Yet, going through this penitentiary he was pushing my 5’ft girlfriend in front of the pack telling her that she had this.

I’m not going to lie, most haunted trails are cheesy, but this was unbelievable. At one point we walked through the cell block and there were men in orange jump suits standing in front of the cells with black bags over their heads with their hands all chained together. Meanwhile, there is smoke and strobe lights making it hard to see. Now you have to walk down this cell block while these men are shaking uncontrollably  and you are waiting for one of them to jump at you at any minute.

What I learned from this experience is that unfortunately, you can’t go two years in a row. Once you know the hiding spots, it will lose it’s luster. I went about five years ago, so I’m hoping I can go back soon and get as scared as I did the last time.

Even the people that don’t like being scared that came, enjoyed the experience.

So my suggestion for a bucket list item. Make sure you scare the hell out of yourself every once in awhile.

You’ll learn a lot about yourself based on the reaction you have.

 

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

Leave a Reply

