Comicon

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

Comicon was never really something on my bucket list initially. I’ll admit, I’ve never been into fantasy, superhero type stuff. Anything I’ve ever seen has been under the influence of my husband and he’s not even all that into it.

So why did I put this on my bucket list? Well, I work for Nickelodeon. We are the ones that handle Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Avatar and Legend of Korra. Needless to say our company gets tickets to go to the New York Comicon every year to work or visit our booth.

So for the five years I have been at Nickelodeon, I would watch as coworkers would take a few hours out of the day and go visit Comicon.

At the time, I was usually swamped with work, but last year I finally decided to check it out. If I was ever going to go, working at Nickelodeon would be the time.

So with a bunch of coworkers, we waited on line for an hour and half (yes no special privilege here). I was completely amazed by how many people showed up and how many came full dressed up in their favorite characters. The amount of money that people must have spent on their costumes were amazing. You would be shamed if you had gone to Party City. Thankfully my coworkers were able to explain to me what characters were from what shows, but I felt like I had entered another dimension I had never experienced before. There were people of all walks of life from little children to fifty-year-old men all here for the same reason.

When we got inside, I was completely overwhelmed. I couldn’t believe how big the place was and just how much was going on. A lot of people remained  in full character the whole time they were there and were willing to take pictures with everyone.

I found it amazing to have a place like this that was a judgement free zone, where everyone with the same passions all can come together.

Seeing people  have a real interest in something and the ability to get together with everyone and geek out about it, I’ll admit made me jealous.

I’m not sure I have anything that I am that passionate about, at least that I could celebrate in the manner that these people do every year. I really had developed a new found respect for them, like I was peeking behind the curtain on the inner workings of ultimate fandom.

So I guess what I have learned from this experience are two things.

As an employee of Nickelodeon who creates consumer products, it was amazing to see what you work on really being put to use and seeing the affect it has on people. It never really registered for me before I went there and saw it for myself.

The other thing this experience taught me was to find my own passions. I realize that I get really passionate about reading. I love getting into a good book and not being able to go to sleep until I finish it, yet ultimately disappointed at the end when it’s over. So I joined a book club where I can geek out with people on some of my favorite stories and we can gush about the characters we love and love to hate.

 

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

Leave a Reply

