Go to Ireland

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

So  I have been to Ireland before when I studied abroad. I had gone to Dublin and had taken a bus tour to the Cliffs of Moher stopping off in a bunch of small towns in between.

The one thing I have to say that still remains true is how friendly the people are. They are always so welcoming to everyone, which seems like a rarity these days.

For this trip, we got to visit our good friend Andrew who lives there.  Him and his girlfriend showed Paul and I around town Friday night before we made our way out to Bushmills on Saturday while they went to a wedding. We then met them back in Belfast Sunday night before heading out Monday morning.

It was a short trip, but we had packed so much stuff in it felt like a week. I had mentioned how going out with locals is always your best best, but I have to say even the day Paul and I took out to Bushmills was great as well.

We went and did a tour of the whiskey distillery, then we walked back to the hotel and enjoyed a nice dinner with a night cap of live Irish folk music in the pub. Not once did we feel like tourist or outsiders.

The pub at the Bushmills seemed to be the place everyone in town went to, so you didn’t feel like you were in a tourist trap. Even when we went to the distillery we wound up having a tasting with someone from Omagh, who went to school with our friend Andrew.

The following day we did the rope bridge, Giant’s Causeway and Port Rush so we really felt like we got a see a variety of Northern Ireland.

What I took away from the trip is that friendly people really made the trip for us. There have been times even when we went to Paris with friends, we were turned off by how rude the local people can be. We New Yorkers are guilty of it as well because we don’t have the time or patience.

Realizing just how much it made a difference for us, I am going to make sure, moving forward, that I am more conscious with how I am when I’m working in Times Square. I get stopped a lot by tourists looking for directions and usually I’m running late to a meeting. But even in my delivery, just taking the thirty seconds that I know I have to talk a little slower and be a little more patient could make a difference on their experience here.

So from now I’m going to be more conscious of that.

 

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

Leave a Reply

