Fly Fishing

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

I’ll admit, fly fishing wasn’t something on my bucket list, but it was on Paul’s. Paul used to love doing this as a kid and would even make his own flies.

It’s been years since he has done this, so when he asked if I’d be willing to do this on our trip to Northern Ireland, I said of course!

The morning was a bit of a rough start, since we had gone out with our friends in Belfast the night before. We had only gotten a few hours of sleep before we had to wake up, drive on the other side of the road, to Lisbon where we were meeting our fishing guide.

What I liked best about our guide was he was willing to teach me how to fly fish properly, without being too on top of me. Given the lack of sleep, I was in no mood to have this guy correcting me every time I castes and he got that.

What also helped was I was the first to get a fish. Paul was happy for me at first, but when I caught another one ten minutes later I think he started to get a bit peeved given the fact that I didn’t care whether or not I caught a fish at all, let alone two right away while he sat patiently trying to strategically  hook them.

Paul did wind up getting two fish as well, so we were even at the end.

The atmosphere was great. We fished in this  stream that had a cow farm on one side and a horse farm on the other underneath a stone bridge. We came in on the horse side and there was one horse in particular that wanted to be our friend. Then again, our camera bag  looked like feed and he kept trying to eat it.

What I learned from this experience was it’s important to always try new things. At first I wasn’t particularly excited about it, but after catching two fish I really started to enjoy it and I will definitely do this again!

 

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

Leave a Reply

