Read Classic Novels

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

Growing up I loved to read and it definitely fueled my writing. I remember though, as much as I loved to read, I absolutely hated the books that I read in high school and in college.

I always thought teachers were  trying to make something out of what wasn’t necessarily there. I’d love to find out if Hemingway was really focused on symbolism in his writing and what it represented. In reality, I think Hemingway just wanted to write a story.

So this bucket list item came more from my husband. He was working crazy hours and when he would get home at 2:00 in the morning he would have a hard time sleeping because he couldn’t turn work off. When watching TV before going to bed was still too stimulating, he decided to read.

Not only did this help calm his mind down before going to bed, but he realized that now as an adult, some of the books we read in high school weren’t too bad.

I started to do the same. I began with Great Gatsby, followed by This Side of Paradise and then Hemingway’s Farewell to Arms. I realized that I had a greater appreciation for them now, because as an adult and had enough life experiences to understand what the characters were going through.

The problem with reading these books in high school, is you are still in your little bubble surrounded by everything you have ever known. Although teachers can tell you about history and the world around us, until we can experience it for ourselves we can’t really relate. The most important part of reading is being able to relate to the characters.

Now that I have that knowledge, my goal is to read as many classic books as I can.

Currently, I’m reading David Copperfield. However, thanks to having a kindle, I go back and forth between that book and  more modern books.

So far I think my favorite classics  are Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None and Ocsar Wilde’s Picture of Dorian Gray.

Going back to these books have really enlightened me and I highly recommend anyone to do the same.

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

Leave a Reply

