Learning How to Play Golf

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

Disclaimer: This is my husband’s reaction to me playing golf.

Much like Jill, our main character in Thirty Days to Thirty, I had her put on her bucket list to learn golf, because it was on my bucket list. Well, just like Jill, it was more due to the influence of her dad saying that it’s important for the corporate world to know how to play golf.

For some industries it is, for media, I don’t know a single person that does.

When I was a senior in high school, my dad decided to take the whole family out to Scottsdale Arizona to learn how to play golf for a few days.

I’m a pretty athletic person, but this was the most torturous learning experience for me. Let me explain to you what happened, true story.

My first time swinging a wood club, I hit the head off of it and sent it flying about ten yards. No, I did not come into contact with the ground. The instructor thought he must’ve given me a broken club so he handed me another. My very next swing, I did the same thing.

He thought there was no way that I could possibly do that a third time in a row and sure enough, I did.

When I got back from the trip, my boyfriend at the time, now husband, didn’t believe me and personally took me to the driving range to prove it. You can guess what happened.

Everyone was convinced I was cursed and needless to say my dad wasn’t going to let me use his golf clubs to practice.

Eventually we all figured out what the problem was. I grew up playing field hockey since I was in fourth grade. Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 9.02.25 AM.png

You’ll notice that the thickest part of a field hockey stick is right where it curves. So that is where we are trained to hit the ball so it will be the most effective.

For a golf club, this is the most sensitive spot of a club, and newer versions of  the club at that time didn’t have a hosel  to protect them. Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 9.06.00 AM.png

So now that I have retired from field hockey and find myself playing more golf with family and friends, I can probably never be able to go back to being as good a field hockey player as I once was.

Even though it was a trying experience, I’m still glad that I learned it.

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Purchase Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

