Sleep No More

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

Ever since I moved to the city, one of the things I really wanted to do was go to see Sleep No More.

For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s a silent interactive play set to the story of Hamlet in a 1930s hotel. All of the audience members have to wear masks so that you have your own personal experience and the entire hotel is the stage.

You can choose to follow a particular actor or just wander around the different sets and see what you come upon.

I went with my husband and a good friend of mine and each of us had very different experiences.

We started the night off having dinner in the hotel. The  establishment has a very Boardwalk Empire feel to it, from the costumes right down the the smokey atmosphere and the jazz band.

Afterwards, we headed over to the play. Each of us were given a playing card and you were called into the play based on your card number. From there, you put your mask on and get into an elevator where it stops multiple times to let different people off at different floors.

I was let off into a wooded area, that to tell you the truth, wandering by myself  was extremely eerie. After a few minutes down there, I headed up the stairwell to another set that resembled a couple’s apartment. Each floor has a completely different look to it and there are constantly scenes happening on every floor.

I wouldn’t want to give away too much, but when I compared notes with my husband he had a way better time than I did.

I knew there was a story line, so I had a made the decision going into it choosing a character to follow. The problem is when you have other people following the same character as well, it can be hard to keep up and I kept losing the character. Then, when I decided I would follow the character with less followers, they would either just do a dance segment or they would just sit there and I was left with a character that wasn’t advancing the plot at all.

My husband on the other hand, really did it right. He decided not to follow anyone. He just wandered each floor by himself. When he did come across a scene, he would get right up in front of the character. He learned quickly that if you held eye contact with them they would engage you. There was one scene where they are at a dance and one woman was standing on the side upset at her boyfriend for dancing with someone else. Paul held his hand out to her and she took it.  Suddenly he was dancing with her as part of the play. He was also given a wedding ring by another character.

When the show was over, we all met back up at the bar area where we got to listen to amazing blues music until 4:00 in the morning.

It was such a wild night and I’m so glad that we were able to that. I can’t wait to go again.

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

 

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

