Publish my first novel

Hi Everyone!

 

Welcome again to Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. Based off of my book Thirty Days to Thirty, a fiction novel that is a fun light hearted or vacation/beach read about a girl accomplishing her bucket list before her 30th birthday.

 

Although it’s a chick lit, it’s also about self discovery and personal development that is meant to inspire people like me who are almost 30 and want to accomplish those bucket list items that they have been meaning to get to, but tend to let fall to the wayside.

 

This blog is about my bucket list items that I am accomplishing before I turn 30. I hope they inspire you to do the same!

This has been a life long dream of mine. Ever since I was in second grade I’ve wanted to write books.

The novel is called Thirty Days to Thirty. It’s about a girl who loses everything and has to move back in with her parents a month before her thirtieth birthday. While she is home, she finds a list she made in high school of things she wanted to accomplish by the time she was thirty.

Sadly, she realizes that she was so focused on her career, that she let everything else fall to the wayside and realizes she never really lived her life before. She makes a decision right then to accomplish everything on her list before her birthday.

I had actually wrote this book five years ago, but never had the guts to publish it. I tried to go the traditional route, but even my editor told me that the focus right now are erotica and fantasy genres, so I wouldn’t have much success. She was right, but I still decided to send it out to 140 agents. When you see that many rejections, it gets very hard to want to keep going.

Finally, Paul pushed me and said that it was a good book and if I was ever going to publish I should do so before I turn thirty.

So in the spirit of my own book, I decided that I would knock off one of my bucket list items, which was to become a published author before I turned 30.

What I’ve learned is that self publishing is a grueling business. It would be great if I could just write a book and then let someone else edit and market it for me, but now, I’m that person. I’m the editor, the publisher and the marketer.

Since hitting publish, I’ve been working two full time jobs essentially. I’ve been taking courses on marketing, understanding Amazon and how to sell your book on it, how to build an author platform and how to build an audience.

It’s been very overwhelming and extremely intimidating. Hopefully all of my hard work will pay off in the long run, as I do hope to make a career out of it.

As stressful as it is now, I know that I will continue to learn the process as I move forward and it will become much easier once I have more books out and have developed more of a following.

Until then, I just have to keep remembering why I’m here. I love to write and I hope that I can write in a way that connects with other readers.

I appreciate all of you for your support!

 

Thank you for reading this entry of Courtney Psak’s 30 days to 30 blog. I hope this inspires you with your own bucket list to accomplish as much as you can before your 30th or even before your next birthday!

 

Remember be sure to check out Thirty Days to Thirty if you are looking for a fiction chick lit novel that is a fun, light, vacation or beach read.

Buy Thirty Days to Thirty Here

My website below:

http://www.courtneypsak.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

